Archery GB is the biggest national governing body for archery within the United Kingdom. Archery GB is responsible for all levels of archery in the UK starting from elite and up to advanced. It supports more than 40,000 members. Archery GB is the umbrella organisation that encompasses English Archery Association and Archery Northern Ireland, Scottish Archery, and Welsh Archery Association. In Archery GB are eight Regional Societies as well as a number of different county societies. It is affiliated to the World Archery Federation (WA); (formerly FITA, the Federation Internationale de Tir a l’Arc) and is an official member of the British Olympic Association. The society’s motto reads “Union Trueheart and Courtesie”. World Archery is the another largest national governing body for Archery.


Archery GB is the largest archery society for target archery in the UK. The society also covers other forms of archery such as Clout archery and field archery.

The society currently has responsibility for over 750 clubs and 28,000 registered members across the UK which can get the magazine Archery UK four times a year, which is included in their membership. It also organises its own national competitions and is responsible for educating coaches, as well as ensuring all affiliated clubs are covered by the public liability insurance policies. The costs are partially covered by affiliation fees which are paid by all club members in addition to regional and county associations as well as Archery GB itself.


In 1843, the first Grand National Archery Meeting took place at the Knavesmire in York. However, the Grand National Archery Society (later Archery GB), was not founded in 1861 when it began to meet at the Adelphi Hotel in Liverpool. Its first activities were limited to organising the Annual National Championships, being at that time just one of the archery societies however it did not become the governing body of the UK until very late. It was made compulsory for archers wanting to shoot or compete in the club to become a GNAS member. The administration was handled by regions, counties, and clubs.

Also Read  Ball game 2022 Details

Some of the Archery Equipment list:

The Royal Toxophilites, Woodmen of Arden and Royal Company of Archers are three older and more important societies in the past that continue to exist in the present. Although they’re not part of the GNAS but some of their members may be part of both.

GNAS/Archery GB is now well-established in the Olympics. British archers have won a total 4 medals since 1972, when the sport was restored to its original splendor.

Craig David was named the bow selector for the British Archery Team’s team for April 2021.

Rebranding as Archery GB

An official announcement was made during the Annual General Meeting, held at Lilleshall 19 April 2008. It was stated that Archery GB will be the trading name for the GNAS. A report in the issue of Summer 2008 in Archery UK, the official GNAS magazine, says:

This significant moment in the history of the Society marks a change that is in its infancy with the elite archers sporting new Archery GB branding. From now the Archery GB brand will represent all facets of the organisation including the Olympic team, coaching programmes as well as activities and membership. The Grand National Archery Society brand does not reflect the organization’s global standing and scale. The brand has been revamped. The logo is outdated and rather dull, and the name conjures images of an insular organisation with a love of horse racing, which is an unfair reflection of a governing organization of this size.

Also read: Archery rules

By john wick

Latest Technology news related to Mobile, Tablets, Laptops, and Internet with expert analysis from Future With Tech. Future With Tech is a top best startup and latest technology blog in India.